The Stories of John Cheever

By John Cheever

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: Vintage

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Tim O’Brien for Going After Cacciato

Fiction Judges That Year: Alison Lurie, Mary Lee Settle, Wallace Stegner

The Year in Literature:

  • The Stories of John Cheever by John Cheever won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Odysseus Elytis won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Cheever won the National Book Award for Fiction twice: in 1958 for The Wapshot Chronicle and in 1981 for The Stories of John Cheever. He was also a Fiction Finalist in 1974 for The World of Apples.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1979 | Main | 1978 »