Saturday, June 9, 2012 at 11:41PM
National Book Foundation

The World According to Garp

By John Irving

Original Publisher: E.P. Dutton & Co.

Current Publisher: Modern Library 

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Tim O’Brien for Going After Cacciato

Fiction Judges That Year: Alison Lurie, Mary Lee Settle, Wallace Stegner

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Irving won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1980 for The World According to Garp (paperback).

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/1980-1.html 

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.