Union Dues

By John Sayles

Original Publisher: Little Brown

Current Publisher: Nation Books

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Mary Lee Settle for Blood Tie

Fiction Judges That Year: Vance Bourjaily, Maureen Howard, Robert Kirsch

The Year in Literature:

  • Elbow Room by James Alan McPherson won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Isaac Bashevis Singer won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

  • Most of Sayles’ body of work is in film. He has written or written/directed more than thirty films, including “Enormous Changes at the Last Minute” (1983), based on Grace Paley’s NBA-nominated book.
  • Sayles’ most recent novel, A Moment in the Sun, was published by McSweeney’s in 2011.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1979 | Main | 1978 »