Elbow Room

By James Alan McPherson

Original Publisher: Little, Brown & Co.

Current Publisher: Fawcett

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Mary Lee Settle for Blood Tie

Fiction Judges That Year: Vance Bourjaily, Maureen Howard, Robert Kirsch

The Year in Literature:

  • Elbow Room by James Alan McPherson won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Isaac Bashevis Singer won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: McPherson was the first African American to win the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1978 | Main | 1978 »