Orsinian Tales

By Ursula K. Le Guin

Original Publisher: Harper & Row

Current Publisher: Harper Perrenial

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Wallace Stegner for The Spectator Bird

Fiction Judges That Year: Erskine Caldwell, George P. Elliott, Orville Prescott

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction. 
  • Vicente Aleixandre won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Le Guin won the National Book Award for Children’s Books in 1973 for The Farthest Shore and was a Finalist two other times: in 1972 for The Tombs of Atuan (Children’s Books) and in 1985 for Always Coming Home (Fiction).

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1977 | Main | 1977 »