Saturday, June 9, 2012 at 10:52PM
National Book Foundation

Humboldt’s Gift

By Saul Bellow

Original Publisher: Viking Press

Current Publisher: Penguin Classics

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Gaddis for JR

Fiction Judges That Year: Maurice Dolbier, William Gass, Mary McCarthy

The Year in Literature: 

More Information: Bellow won the National Book Award for Fiction three times: in 1954 for The Adventures of Augie March, in 1965 for Herzog, and in 1971 for Mr. Sammler’s Planet. He was also a Fiction Finalist twice more: in 1957 for Seize the Day and in 1960 for Henderson the Rain King. In 1990, Bellow received the Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.


Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.