Humboldt’s Gift

By Saul Bellow

Original Publisher: Viking Press

Current Publisher: Penguin Classics

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Gaddis for JR

Fiction Judges That Year: Maurice Dolbier, William Gass, Mary McCarthy

The Year in Literature: 

  • Humboldt's Gift by Saul Bellow won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Saul Bellow won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Bellow won the National Book Award for Fiction three times: in 1954 for The Adventures of Augie March, in 1965 for Herzog, and in 1971 for Mr. Sammler’s Planet. He was also a Fiction Finalist twice more: in 1957 for Seize the Day and in 1960 for Henderson the Rain King. In 1990, Bellow received the Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1976 | Main | 1975 »