Other People’s Lives

By Johanna Kaplan

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: iUniverse

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Gaddis for JR

Fiction Judges That Year: Maurice Dolbier, William Gass, Mary McCarthy

The Year in Literature: 

  • Humboldt's Gift by Saul Bellow won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Saul Bellow won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Kaplan was a Fiction Finalist once more, in 1981 in the short-lived First Novel category for O My America.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1976 | Main | 1976 »