Saturday, June 9, 2012 at 10:37PM
National Book Foundation

Look at the Harlequins!

By Vladimir Nabokov

Original Publisher: McGraw-Hill Book Company

Current Publisher: Vintage

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Thomas Williams for The Hair of Harold Roux

Fiction Judges That Year: Stanley Elkin, Elizabeth Hardwick, Richard Locke

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Nabokov never won the National Book Award, but he was a Fiction Finalist six other times: in 1958 for Pnin, in 1959 for Lolita, in 1963 for Pale Fire, in 1965 for The Defense, in 1973 for Transparent Things, and in 1976 for Tyrants Destroyed and Other Stories.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.