Saturday, June 9, 2012 at 10:25PM
National Book Foundation

State of Grace

By Joy Williams

Original Publisher: Doubleday

Current Publisher: Vintage

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Thomas Pynchon for Gravity’s Rainbow and Isaac Bashevis Singer for A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories

Fiction Judges That Year: Donald Barthelme, James Boatwright, Truman Capote, Timothy G. Foote, Cynthia Ozick

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Williams is the author of four novels, including The Changeling (1979), Breaking and Entering (1988), and The Quick and the Dead (2000), as well as three story collections and two nonfiction works.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.