Saturday, June 9, 2012 at 10:19PM
National Book Foundation


By Gore Vidal

Original Publisher: Bantam

Current Publisher: Vintage

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Thomas Pynchon for Gravity’s Rainbow and Isaac Bashevis Singer for A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories

Fiction Judges That Year: Donald Barthelme, James Boatwright, Truman Capote, Timothy G. Foote, Cynthia Ozick

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Vidal won the National Book Award for Nonfiction in 1993 for United States: Essays 1952-1992 and was a Finalist once previously, in 1970 in the Arts and Letters category for Reflections Upon a Sinking Ship. Vidal also received the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters in 2009.

Links: www.nationalbook.org/amerletters_2009_vidal.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.