Saturday, June 9, 2012 at 9:54PM
National Book Foundation

The World of Apples

By John Cheever

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Thomas Pynchon for Gravity’s Rainbow and Isaac Bashevis Singer for A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories

Fiction Judges That Year: Donald Barthelme, James Boatwright, Truman Capote, Timothy G. Foote, Cynthia Ozick

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Cheever won the National Book Award for Fiction twice: in 1958 for The Wapshot Chronicle and in 1981 for The Stories of John Cheever (paperback). He was also a Fiction Finalist for the hardcover edition of Stories in 1979.


Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.