Saturday, June 9, 2012 at 9:37PM
National Book Foundation

The Optimist’s Daughter

By Eudora Welty

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Amereon Limited

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John Barth for Chimera and John Williams for Augustus

Fiction Judges That Year: Evan Connell, Leslie A. Fielder, William Gass, Walker Percy, Jonathan Yardley

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Eudora Welty was a Finalist in the Fiction (Hardcover) category for her Collected Stories in 1981 and won the National Book Award in the Fiction (Paperback) category for the same book two years later, in 1983. She was also a Finalist three other times: in 1956 for The Bride of the Innisfallen (Fiction), in 1971 for Losing Battles (Fiction), and in 1984 for One Writer’s Beginnings (Nonfiction). Welty received the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters in 1991.


Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.