Saturday, June 9, 2012 at 9:29PM
National Book Foundation

The Prince

By R.M. Koster

Original Publisher: William Morrow & Company

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John Barth for Chimera and John Williams for Augustus

Fiction Judges That Year: Evan Connell, Leslie A. Fielder, William Gass, Walker Percy, Jonathan Yardley

The Year in Literature:

More Information: The Prince was Koster’s first book and became the first volume in his Tinieblas trilogy, including The Dissertation (1975) and Mandragon (1979). All three books are set in an imaginary Central American republic much like Panama, where Koster lived for many years.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.