Friday, June 8, 2012 at 6:09PM
National Book Foundation

A Garden of Sand

By Earl Thompson

Original Publisher: Putnam

Current Publisher: Carroll & Graf

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Flannery O’Connor for The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor

Fiction Judges That Year: Joan Didion, Martha Duffy, Joseph Heller, Christopher Lehmann-Haupt, L. Woiwode

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Thompson published three novels before he died suddenly of a heart attack in 1978 at age 47. His fourth and final book, The Devil to Pay, was published posthumously. 

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.