Friday, June 8, 2012 at 5:51PM
National Book Foundation

The Book of Daniel

By E.L. Doctrow

Original and Current Publisher: Random House

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Flannery O’Connor for The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor

Fiction Judges That Year: Joan Didion, Martha Duffy, Joseph Heller, Christopher Lehmann-Haupt, L. Woiwode

The Year in Literature:

More Information: E.L. Doctrow won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1986 for World’s Fair. He was also a Fiction Finalist three more times: in 1982 for Loon Lake, in 1989 for Billy Bathgate, and in 2005 for The March.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/1986.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.