Friday, June 8, 2012 at 5:43PM
National Book Foundation

Losing Battles

By Eudora Welty

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Vintage

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Saul Bellow for Mr. Sammler’s Planet

Fiction Judges That Year: John Cheever, Maurice Dolbier, John Leonard, Marya Mannes, William Styron

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Eudora Welty was a Finalist in the Fiction (Hardcover) category for her Collected Stories in 1981 and won the National Book Award in the Fiction (Paperback) category for the same book two years later, in 1983. She was also a Finalist three other times: in 1956 for The Bride of the Innisfallen (Fiction), in 1973 for The Optimist’s Daughter (Fiction), and in 1984 for One Writer’s Beginnings (Nonfiction). Welty received the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters in 1991.


Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.