Friday, June 8, 2012 at 5:07PM
National Book Foundation

The Bay of Noon

By Shirley Hazzard

Original Publisher: Little, Brown & Co.

Current Publisher: Picador

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Saul Bellow for Mr. Sammler’s Planet

Fiction Judges That Year: John Cheever, Maurice Dolbier, John Leonard, Marya Mannes, William Styron

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Shirley Hazzard won the National Book Award for Fiction in 2003 for The Great Fire. She was also a Fiction Finalist in 1981 and in 1982 for The Transit of Venus (hardcover and paperback).

Links: http://www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/2003.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.