The Bay of Noon

By Shirley Hazzard

Original Publisher: Little, Brown & Co.

Current Publisher: Picador

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Saul Bellow for Mr. Sammler’s Planet

Fiction Judges That Year: John Cheever, Maurice Dolbier, John Leonard, Marya Mannes, William Styron

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction.
  • Pablo Neruda won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Shirley Hazzard won the National Book Award for Fiction in 2003 for The Great Fire. She was also a Fiction Finalist in 1981 and in 1982 for The Transit of Venus (hardcover and paperback).


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1971 | Main | 1971 »