The Pursuit of Happiness

By Thomas Rogers

Original Publisher: The New American Library

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Jerzy Kosinki for Steps

Fiction Judges That Year: Irving Howe, Jerre Mangione, Wright Morris

The Year in Literature:

  • House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Samuel Beckett won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: 

  • Rogers was a Fiction Finalist once more, in 1973 for The Confessions of a Child of the Century.
  • The Pursuit of Happiness was made into a 1971 film of the same title directed by Robert Mulligan and starring Michael Sarrazin and Barbara Hershey.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1970 | Main | 1969 »