Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 10:45AM
National Book Foundation

Expensive People

By Joyce Carol Oates

Original Publisher: The Vanguard Press

Current Publisher: Modern Library

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year:  Jerzy Kosinki for Steps

Fiction Judges That Year: Irving Howe, Jerre Mangione, Wright Morris

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Oates won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1970 for them. She was also a Fiction Finalist four other times: in 1968 for A Garden of Earthly Delights; in 1972 for Wonderland; in 1990 for Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart; and in 2000 for Blonde.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/1970.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.