Expensive People

By Joyce Carol Oates

Original Publisher: The Vanguard Press

Current Publisher: Modern Library

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year:  Jerzy Kosinki for Steps

Fiction Judges That Year: Irving Howe, Jerre Mangione, Wright Morris

The Year in Literature:

  • House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Samuel Beckett won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Oates won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1970 for them. She was also a Fiction Finalist four other times: in 1968 for A Garden of Earthly Delights; in 1972 for Wonderland; in 1990 for Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart; and in 2000 for Blonde.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1969 | Main | 1969 »