A Fan’s Notes

By Frederick Exley

Original and Current Publisher: Vintage Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Jerzy Kosinki for Steps

Fiction Judges That Year: Irving Howe, Jerre Mangione, Wright Morris

The Year in Literature:

  • House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Samuel Beckett won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: The complete title of Exley’s book is A Fan’s Notes: A Fictional Memoir. A “Note to the Reader” in the opening pages reads, “Though the events in this book bear similarity to those of that long malaise, my life, many of the characters and happenings are creations solely of the imagination. In such cases, I of course disclaim any responsibility for their resemblance to real people or events, which would be coincidental… In creating such characters, I have drawn freely from the imagination and adhered only loosely to the pattern of my past life. To this extent, and for this reason, I ask to be judged as a writer of fantasy.”

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1969 | Main | 1969 »