Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 10:40AM
National Book Foundation

The Confessions of Nat Turner

By William Styron

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Vintage; Open Road Integrated Media (ebook)

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Thorton Wilder for The Eighth Day

Fiction Judges That Year: Josephine Herbst, Granville Hicks, John Updike

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Styron won the National Book Award in 1980 for Sophie’s Choice and was a Fiction Finalist once previously, in 1952 for Lie Down in Darkness.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/1980-5.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.