The Confessions of Nat Turner

By William Styron

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Vintage; Open Road Integrated Media (ebook)

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Thorton Wilder for The Eighth Day

Fiction Judges That Year: Josephine Herbst, Granville Hicks, John Updike

The Year in Literature:

  • The Confessions of Nat Turner by William Styron won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Yasunari Kawabata won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Styron won the National Book Award in 1980 for Sophie’s Choice and was a Fiction Finalist once previously, in 1952 for Lie Down in Darkness.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1969 | Main | 1968 »