A Garden of Earthly Delights

By Joyce Carol Oates

Original Publisher: Vanguard Press

Current Publisher: Modern Library

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Thorton Wilder for The Eighth Day

Fiction Judges That Year: Josephine Herbst, Granville Hicks, John Updike

The Year in Literature:

  • The Confessions of Nat Turner by William Styron won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Yasunari Kawabata won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Oates won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1970 for them. She was also a Fiction Finalist four other times: in 1969 for Expensive People; in 1972 for Wonderland; in 1990 for Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart; and in 2000 for Blonde.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1968 | Main | 1968 »