Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 10:29AM
National Book Foundation

The Last Gentleman

By Walker Percy

Original Publisher: Picador

Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux; Open Road Integrated Media (ebook)

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Bernard Malamud for The Fixer

Fiction Judges That Year: John K. Hutchens, Mark Schorer, Anthony West

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Percy won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1962 for The Moviegoer. He was also a Fiction Finalist three more times: in 1972 for Love in the Ruins and in 1981 and 1982 for The Second Coming (hardcover and paperback).

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/2009/7/16/1962.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.