The Last Gentleman

By Walker Percy

Original Publisher: Picador

Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux; Open Road Integrated Media (ebook)

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Bernard Malamud for The Fixer

Fiction Judges That Year: John K. Hutchens, Mark Schorer, Anthony West

The Year in Literature:

  • The Fixer by the Bernard Malamud also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Miguel Ángel Asturias won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Percy won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1962 for The Moviegoer. He was also a Fiction Finalist three more times: in 1972 for Love in the Ruins and in 1981 and 1982 for The Second Coming (hardcover and paperback).


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1967 | Main | 1967 »