Everything that Rises Must Converge

By Flannery O’Connor

Original and Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Katherine Anne Porter for The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter

Fiction Judges That Year: Paul Horgan, J.F. Powers, Glenway Wescott

The Year in Literature:

  • The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Shmuel Agnon and Nelly Sachs won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: O’Connor won the National Book Award in 1972 for her Complete Stories and was a Fiction Finalist two other times: in 1956 for A Good Man Is Hard to Find and in 1961 for The Violent Bear It Away.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1966 | Main | 1966 »