The (Diblos) Notebook

By James Merrill

Original Publisher: Atheneum

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Katherine Anne Porter for The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter

Fiction Judges That Year: Paul Horgan, J.F. Powers, Glenway Wescott

The Year in Literature:

  • The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Shmuel Agnon and Nelly Sachs won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Merrill won the National Book Award for Poetry twice: in 1967 for Nights and Days and in 1979 for Mirabell: Books of Number. He was also a Poetry Finalist in 1973 for Braving the Elements. This was his only Fiction nomination.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1966 | Main | 1966 »