Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 10:18AM
National Book Foundation

At Play in the Fields of the Lord

By Peter Matthiessen

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Vintage

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Katherine Anne Porter for The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter

Fiction Judges That Year: Paul Horgan, J.F. Powers, Glenway Wescott

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Matthiessen won the National Book Award three times: in 1979 and 1980 for The Snow Leopard, and in 2008 for Shadow Country. He was also a Finalist in 1973 with Eliot Porter for The Tree Where Man Was Born/The African Experience.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/2008.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.