At Play in the Fields of the Lord

By Peter Matthiessen

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Vintage

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Katherine Anne Porter for The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter

Fiction Judges That Year: Paul Horgan, J.F. Powers, Glenway Wescott

The Year in Literature:

  • The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Shmuel Agnon and Nelly Sachs won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Matthiessen won the National Book Award three times: in 1979 and 1980 for The Snow Leopard, and in 2008 for Shadow Country. He was also a Finalist in 1973 with Eliot Porter for The Tree Where Man Was Born/The African Experience.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1966 | Main | 1966 »