Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 10:02AM
National Book Foundation

The Rector of Justin

By Louis Auchincloss

Original Publisher: Houghton Mifflin

Current Publisher: Mariner Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Saul Bellow for Herzog

Fiction Judges That Year: Richard Gilman, R.W.B. Lewis, Bernard Malamud

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Auchincloss was a Fiction Finalist three other times: in 1960 for Pursuit of the Prodigal, in 1961 for The House of Five Talents, and in 1967 for The Embezzler.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.