The Rector of Justin

By Louis Auchincloss

Original Publisher: Houghton Mifflin

Current Publisher: Mariner Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Saul Bellow for Herzog

Fiction Judges That Year: Richard Gilman, R.W.B. Lewis, Bernard Malamud

The Year in Literature:

  • The Keepers of the House by Shirley Ann Grau won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Mikhail Sholokhov won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Auchincloss was a Fiction Finalist three other times: in 1960 for Pursuit of the Prodigal, in 1961 for The House of Five Talents, and in 1967 for The Embezzler.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1965 | Main | 1964 »