Short Friday

By Isaac Bashevis Singer

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Co.

Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Saul Bellow for Herzog

Fiction Judges That Year: Richard Gilman, R.W.B. Lewis, Bernard Malamud

The Year in Literature:

  • The Keepers of the House by Shirley Ann Grau won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Mikhail Sholokhov won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Singer won the National Book Award twice: in 1970 for A Day of Pleasure: Stories of a Boy Growing Up in Warsaw (Children’s Books) and in 1974 for A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories (Fiction). He was also a Finalist three more times: in 1962 for The Spinoza of Market Street and Other Stories (Fiction), in 1967 for In My Father’s Court (Arts and Letters), and in 1973 for Enemies, A Love Story (Fiction).


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1966 | Main | 1965 »