The Martyred

By Richard Kim

Original Publisher: George Braziller

Current Publisher: Penguin Classics

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Saul Bellow for Herzog

Fiction Judges That Year: Richard Gilman, R.W.B. Lewis, Bernard Malamud

The Year in Literature:

  • The Keepers of the House by Shirley Ann Grau won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Mikhail Sholokhov won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

  • Kim was born and raised in Korea and came to the U.S. in 1955.
  • The Martyred was Kim’s first novel. It was made into a play, an opera, and a film.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1965 | Main | 1965 »