Second Skin

By John Hawkes

Original and Current Publisher: New Directions

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Saul Bellow for Herzog

Fiction Judges That Year: Richard Gilman, R.W.B. Lewis, Bernard Malamud

The Year in Literature:

  • The Keepers of the House by Shirley Ann Grau won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Mikhail Sholokhov won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

  • Hawkes was born in Stamford, Connecticut, and educated at Harvard University. He taught at Brown University for thirty years.
  • He is the author of more than twenty novels, including The Lime Twig (said to be a favorite of Thomas Pynchon) and The Beetle Leg.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1965 | Main | 1965 »