Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 9:42AM
National Book Foundation

Idiots First

By Bernard Malamud 

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Co.

Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John Updike for The Centaur

Fiction Judges That Year: John Cheever, Robie Macauley, Philip Rahv

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Malamud won the National Book Award for Fiction twice: in 1959 for The Magic Barrel and in 1967 for The Fixer. He was also a Fiction Finalist two other times: in 1958 for The Assistant and in 1962 for A New Life.


Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.