Idiots First

By Bernard Malamud 

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Co.

Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Fiction Finalists That Year:

  • Bernard Malamud for Idiots First
  • Mary McCarthy for The Group
  • Thomas Pynchon for V.
  • Harvey Swados for The Will 

Fiction Winner That Year: John Updike for The Centaur

Fiction Judges That Year: John Cheever, Robie Macauley, Philip Rahv

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction.
  • Jean-Paul Sartre won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Malamud won the National Book Award for Fiction twice: in 1959 for The Magic Barrel and in 1967 for The Fixer. He was also a Fiction Finalist two other times: in 1958 for The Assistant and in 1962 for A New Life.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1964 | Main | 1963 »