Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 9:52AM
National Book Foundation

The Will

By Harvey Swados

Original Publisher: World Publishing Co.

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John Updike for The Centaur

Fiction Judges That Year: John Cheever, Robie Macauley, Philip Rahv

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Swados’ first publication was a short story, “The Amateurs,” written when he was only sixteen years old. It was published in Contemporary, the literary quarterly at the University of Michigan, where Swados was a student, and later reprinted in The Best Short Stories of 1938, where it appeared alongside stories by John Cheever, John Steinbeck, Robert Penn Warren, and Eudora Welty.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.