The Will

By Harvey Swados

Original Publisher: World Publishing Co.

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

  • Bernard Malamud for Idiots First
  • Mary McCarthy for The Group
  • Thomas Pynchon for V.
  • Harvey Swados for The Will 

Fiction Winner That Year: John Updike for The Centaur

Fiction Judges That Year: John Cheever, Robie Macauley, Philip Rahv

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction.
  • Jean-Paul Sartre won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Swados’ first publication was a short story, “The Amateurs,” written when he was only sixteen years old. It was published in Contemporary, the literary quarterly at the University of Michigan, where Swados was a student, and later reprinted in The Best Short Stories of 1938, where it appeared alongside stories by John Cheever, John Steinbeck, Robert Penn Warren, and Eudora Welty.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1965 | Main | 1964 »