Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 9:50AM
National Book Foundation


By Thomas Pynchon

Original Publisher: Lippincott

Current Publisher: Harper Perennial

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John Updike for The Centaur

Fiction Judges That Year: John Cheever, Robie Macauley, Philip Rahv

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Pynchon won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1974 for Gravity’s Rainbow.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/1974.html 

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.