Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 9:48AM
National Book Foundation

The Group

By Mary McCarthy

Original Publisher: Harcourt, Brace & World

Current Publisher: Mariner Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John Updike for The Centaur

Fiction Judges That Year: John Cheever, Robie Macauley, Philip Rahv

The Year in Literature:

More Information: McCarthy was a Finalist once previously, in 1958 for Memories of a Catholic Girlhood (Nonfiction).

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.