The Group

By Mary McCarthy

Original Publisher: Harcourt, Brace & World

Current Publisher: Mariner Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

  • Bernard Malamud for Idiots First
  • Mary McCarthy for The Group
  • Thomas Pynchon for V.
  • Harvey Swados for The Will 

Fiction Winner That Year: John Updike for The Centaur

Fiction Judges That Year: John Cheever, Robie Macauley, Philip Rahv

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction.
  • Jean-Paul Sartre won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: McCarthy was a Finalist once previously, in 1958 for Memories of a Catholic Girlhood (Nonfiction).

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1964 | Main | 1964 »