Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 9:30AM
National Book Foundation

Pale Fire

By Vladimir Nabokov

Original Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons

Current Publisher: Everyman’s Library

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: J.F. Powers for Morte D’Urban

Fiction Judges That Year: Elizabeth Hardwick, Harry Levin, Gore Vidal

The Year in Literature: 

More Information: Nabokov never won the National Book Award, but he was a Fiction Finalist six more times: in 1958 for Pnin, in 1959 for Lolita, in 1965 for The Defense, in 1973 for Transparent Things, in 1975 for Look at the Harlequins!, and in 1976 for Tyrants Destroyed and Other Stories.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.