Pale Fire

By Vladimir Nabokov

Original Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons

Current Publisher: Everyman’s Library

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: J.F. Powers for Morte D’Urban

Fiction Judges That Year: Elizabeth Hardwick, Harry Levin, Gore Vidal

The Year in Literature: 

  • The Reivers by William Faulkner won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Giorgos Seferis won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Nabokov never won the National Book Award, but he was a Fiction Finalist six more times: in 1958 for Pnin, in 1959 for Lolita, in 1965 for The Defense, in 1973 for Transparent Things, in 1975 for Look at the Harlequins!, and in 1976 for Tyrants Destroyed and Other Stories.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1963 | Main | 1962 »