Pigeon Feathers and Other Stories

By John Updike

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: Ballantine Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: J.F. Powers for Morte D’Urban

Fiction Judges That Year: Elizabeth Hardwick, Harry Levin, Gore Vidal

The Year in Literature: 

  • The Reivers by William Faulkner won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Giorgos Seferis won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Updike won the National Book Award twice: in 1964 for The Centaur and in 1982 for Rabbit Is Rich. He was a Fiction Finalist five other times: in 1960 for The Poorhouse Fair; in 1961 for Rabbit, Run; in 1971 for Bech: A Book; in 1972 for Rabbit Redux; and in 1980 for Too Far to Go. Updike also received the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters in 1998.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1964 | Main | 1963 »