Revolutionary Road

By Richard Yates

Original Publisher: Little, Brown

Current Publisher: Vintage Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Walker Percy for The Moviegoer

Fiction Judges That Year: Lewis Gannett, Herbert Gold, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

  • The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O'Connor won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • John Steinbeck won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Revolutionary Road was Yates’ first novel. The book was made into a 2008 film of the same title starring Kate Winslet and Leonardo DiCaprio and directed by Sam Mendes.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1963 | Main | 1962 »