The Morning and the Evening

By Joan Williams

Original Publisher: Atheneum

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Walker Percy for The Moviegoer

Fiction Judges That Year: Lewis Gannett, Herbert Gold, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

  • The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O'Connor won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • John Steinbeck won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: National Book Award Winner William Styron wrote, "The Morning and the Evening is indisputably the work of a greatly gifted writer. It is a haunting and beautiful tale, richly interfused with humor and sharp, unsettling insights into the human predicament. Not the least of Miss Williams' talents is her perfectly focused rendering of the Southern landscape, which comes through with the clear simplicity of Flaubert's Normandy, and with the same sensuous feel of reality. A fine work."

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1962 | Main | 1962 »