The Pawnbroker

By Edward Lewis Wallant

Original Publisher: Harcourt, Brace & World

Current Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Walker Percy for The Moviegoer

Fiction Judges That Year: Lewis Gannett, Herbert Gold, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

  • The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O'Connor won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • John Steinbeck won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information:

  • The Pawnbroker was made into a 1964 film of the same title directed by Sidney Lumet and starring Rod Steiger.
  • Wallant died of an aneurysm at the age of thirty-six. Shortly after his death in 1962, the University of Hartford created the Edward Lewis Wallant Award, which is presented annually to a writer whose fiction “bears a kinship to the work of Wallant.” The most recent recipient of the Wallant Award was 2011 National Book Award Fiction Finalist Edith Pearlman for her story collection Binocular Vision.


The Pawnbroker on

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (1)

Correction: The Pawnbroker, by Edward Lewis Wallant is NOT out of print. It is available on Amazon and other bookstores.
June 29, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterLeslie Wallant
Comments for this entry have been disabled. Additional comments may not be added to this entry at this time.
« 1962 | Main | 1962 »